Canada visa-free travel

Canada Expands Visa-Free Travel: Nigeria Not Eligible

1 minute, 45 seconds Read
Share the info

Canada has made significant changes to its visa-free travel policy, adding Morocco and Seychelles to the list while excluding Nigeria.

In a statement released by Canadian Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, Sean Fraser. It was announced that visitors from 13 countries across Asia, Africa, Central, and South America can now travel to Canada without a visa.

The newly eligible countries for visa-free travel to Canada include Antigua and Barbuda, St Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, St Kitts-Nevis, Panama, Argentina, Costa Rica, Uruguay, Morocco, Seychelles, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Thailand, and the Philippines.

However, it is worth noting that Nigeria, the most populous African nation, did not make it onto the list.

Fraser highlighted that the expansion of the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program will not only provide convenience for “known travelers” from these countries but also enhance travel, tourism, and economic benefits, as well as strengthen global bonds with the 13 participating nations.

One of the major advantages of the visa exemptions is the potential cost savings for visitors. While a visitor visa costs $100 per person or $500 for a family of five or more, an eTA only carries a minimal fee of $7 per person and remains valid for up to five years.

By introducing visa-free air travel, Canada aims to streamline the process, making it faster, easier, and more affordable for thousands of travelers to visit the country for up to six months, whether for business or leisure purposes.

The inclusion of Morocco and Seychelles in the visa-free travel list demonstrates Canada’s commitment to diversifying its tourism industry and building stronger ties with countries from different continents.

READ ALSO  President Bola Tinubu's Vision for Progress and Unity

However, the exclusion of Nigeria indicates that there are certain requirements or considerations that need to be addressed in order for the country to become eligible for visa-free travel to Canada.

In summary, Canada’s recent expansion of its visa-free travel program provides new opportunities for travelers from various countries, allowing them easier access to Canada’s rich cultural heritage and economic opportunities. While Morocco and Seychelles have joined the list, Nigeria will need to fulfill specific criteria to be considered for inclusion in future revisions of the program.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *